Political System

Belgium is a constitutional state, it has a royal system and is a parliamentary democracy state.

The federal parliament in Belgium consist of two chambers- the House of Representatives and the Senate or the upper house. It consists of 40 people to be directly elected, 21 people are appointed by the parliaments of the three geographical regions, and 10 independent members in addition to the king's son. The House of Representatives consists of 150 members and are elected through proportional voting system.

Belgium is one of the few countries where voting is compulsory, therefore, the percentage of the voting in Belgium is one of the highest turnout rates in the world.